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What Is Cost Per Visit (CPV) and How To Calculate It?

Sanja trajcheva.

Marketing | May 06, 2023

cost per profile visit instagram

As a digital marketer, you probably have a whole stack of KPIs that you’re monitoring on a daily basis. So here is another one for you… Cost per visit, or CPV.

Understanding your cost per visit can help you make sense of how much your advertising is costing you in total. It can also help you identify how effective your ad campaigns are and can even help you spot click fraud .

Sounds super useful, right? OK, so first of all, what is CPV?

Table of Contents

What is Cost per Visit?

The cost per visit (CPV) to your site or business looks at how much you’re paying for your advertising and how much a single visit costs.

This can be applied to both website clicks and physical visits or appointments at your location. Generally, it is used to analyze your PPC campaigns, but once you understand how to work out the cost per visit, you can apply it in different ways.

Unlike  ROAS  (return on ad spend), which focuses on how much it costs to win one customer, CPV looks more at how much you’re paying for an individual visit. It’s a useful way to work out how effective your ad campaigns are across multiple platforms and strategies.

Cost per visit is also not necessarily a metric used by the ad platforms, so you won’t see it in your dashboard. It is, however, quite useful to know if you want to tally up the results of your ad spend.

Do I need to know Cost Per Visit?

Most businesses are using a mixture of advertising methods online, which can include CPC (cost per click),  CPA  (cost per acquisition), and CPM (cost per thousand impressions).

And running digital marketing ad campaigns usually means using multiple platforms. You might be using Google Ads to target the bottom-of-funnel (BoFu) market and sell. But you might be using Facebook Ads to increase site visitors and boost your brand visibility.

If you’ve ever looked at your spreadsheets or advertising dashboards and scratched your head, understanding your cost per visit can help make sense of all of your combined metrics.

How to work out Cost Per Visit (CPV)

Let’s say you want to work out your cost per visit in a weekly period.

The first thing to do is tally up your ad spend on all platforms that you’re using and the clicks or site visits that came from each of them.

As we can see from the chart above, our example business has spent $650 on marketing in a week. From that, there have been 125 site visits.

$650 / 125 visits = 5.2

That makes a total of around $5.20 per site visit.

To calculate cost per visit (CPV):

Total Cost (divided by) Total Visits = Cost Per Visit (CPV)

In this instance, we’re not looking at the CPA or ROAS, which will return different figures.

Now, another way to look at your cost per visit is to look at the total site visits you have in a period and divide that by all of your marketing efforts. This might also include the time spent to create organic content, the costs of any freelancers or agencies you’re using to do keyword research or manage your ads, and even the software you pay for to help you do the job.

This might look something like:

  • Paid ad spend $650
  • In-house marketing team $300
  • Freelance contributor $150
  • Software package $25

And let’s say you have 800 unique views on your site per week from all sources, including organic, paid search, and your paid social campaigns.

$1125 / 800 = $1.40 per visit

Understanding CPV

With the cost per visit, you can then apply your cost per acquisition or return on ad spend and see where your marketing efforts are most successful.

Of course, those organic results might not seem the most cost-effective in the short term, but they are probably (or should be) part of your overall content marketing strategy.

When looking at your paid search results, you can investigate how effective your PPC ads are at attracting the right kind of site visitors. Looking at that cost per visitor, you can then analyze things like:

  • Time spent on site or bounce rate
  • Pages viewed
  • Average spend per customer
  • Lifetime value of a customer
  • How PPC fares as a percentage of your marketing spend

What’s in a click?

Each click has a value, even if it’s from an organic source. At some point, you’ve paid money or spent your time (which also has value, right?) to create a clickable resource.

Eventually, with some good marketing strategy, the bulk of your sales and site visitors should come from organic search results. Although not ‘free’ traffic (again, you have paid for it), it doesn’t cost per click or per view.

But pay-per-click is still one of the most effective ways of driving traffic to your business and getting on top of the SERPs.

When it comes to clicks on paid search ads, the issues of click fraud and ad fraud become key. Of those site visitors, how many of them are not genuine potential customers?

Understanding how much click bots or malicious business competitors can cost your business can be an eye-opener for many business owners.

According to research from the University of Baltimore, the volume of click fraud averages around 14% globally. And from our own data, we’ve seen this rising to over 60% for some particularly competitive industries.

Yes, that means that 60% of paid clicks on some ad campaigns are not even real customers (or even people), which in many cases also means a higher cost per visit (CPV).

Check out how much fraudulent traffic there is on your PPC ads with the free trial of our industry-leading anti-click fraud software.

cost per profile visit instagram

As an experienced content writer, Sanja is a firm believer in the power of storytelling to inspire and educate audiences. In her role at CHEQ, Sanja fearlessly tackles the challenges of the fake web – navigating through fake traffic, ad fraud, and click fraud. When not writing, she enjoys exploring new tastes and planning her next adventures.

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Profile Visits

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The Profile Visits metric on Instagram refers to the number of times that users have visited your Instagram profile. It helps you understand how often people are curious about your business and want to learn more.

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Used to show a simple Metric or to draw attention to one key number.

How to track Profile Visits in Databox?

Databox is a business analytics software that allows you to track and visualize your most important metrics from any data source in one centralized platform.

To track Profile Visits using Databox, follow these steps:

  • 1 Connect Instagram Business that contains the metric you want to track
  • 2 Select the metric you want to track from the list of available metrics
  • 3 Drag and drop the selected metric onto your dashboard
  • 4 Watch your dashboard populate in seconds
  • 5 Put Profile Visits on the Performance screen
  • 6 Get Profile Visits performance daily with Scorecards or as a weekly digest
  • 7 Set Goals to track and improve performance of Profile Visits

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Instagram Business integration with Databox

Instagram Business Profile Visits included in Dashboard Templates 1

Instagram business profile overview.

Instagram dashboard template provides you with insights about your overall account health and performance and will help you to know more about your Instagram followers.

Instagram Business

Instagram Business Profile Visits included in Report Templates 1

Instagram business report template.

Use this Instagram Business report to share insights into post performance, reach, impressions, audience analysis, and more.

  • Description The Profile Visits metric on Instagram refers to the number of times that users have visited your Instagram profile. It helps you understand how often people are curious about your business and want to learn more.
  • Category Social Media
  • Subcategory Visits
  • Date Added 2018-05-06
  • Cumulative Support Yes
  • Favorable Trend increasing
  • Changing historical data No
  • Forecast Support Yes
  • Benchmark Support Yes
  • Dimension N/A
  • Metric Type general Learn more
  • API Value Key
  • API Dimension Key
  • API Endpoint https://graph.facebook.com/v17.0/{accountId}/insights

Related Metrics

The Following metric on Instagram Business refers to the measure of people who have chosen to follow your account for updates on your brand. It provides a key insight into your brand's reach and allows you to gauge the effectiveness of your content strategy for building a loyal audience.

The Posts metric on Instagram refers to the total number of posts made on an Instagram profile, including photos, videos, and carousel posts. This metric can be helpful in measuring the level of activity and engagement on a profile over time.

Top Posts by Comments Count

Top Posts by Comments Count is a metric that reveals the Instagram posts with the highest number of comments. It helps businesses gauge the audience's engagement level with their content and identify popular topics or trends.

The New Posts metric on Instagram measures the number of posts a business account has published within a specific time frame. It indicates how frequently a business is posting new content on their Instagram feed.

New Posts by Likes Count

The New Posts by Likes Count metric tracks the number of likes received on newly-posted content, providing insights into the success of recent posts and overall engagement trends.

The Reach metric on Instagram measures the total number of unique accounts that have viewed your content, indicating the size and scope of your audience.

Phone Call Clicks

The Phone Call Click metric measures the number of times users click on the phone number on your Instagram Business profile to make a call. It helps businesses track the effectiveness of their contact information and optimize their profile for better customer engagement.

Get Directions Clicks

The Get Directions Clicks metric measures the number of times users clicked on the "Get Directions" button on your Instagram Business profile to find directions to your physical location.

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Instagram Cost Per Impression Calculator

Introduction.

Instagram, a widely used social media platform, provides businesses and advertisers with a powerful tool for reaching a broad and engaged audience. To gauge the efficiency of Instagram ad campaigns, it’s crucial to understand how much is spent to achieve each impression. The Cost Per Impression (CPI) metric is an important indicator in evaluating the cost-effectiveness of ad campaigns on Instagram.

The calculation of Cost Per Impression (CPI) is based on two key factors: the total cost ( TC ) of the ad campaign and the number of impressions ( I or N I ). The formula for determining CPI is as follows:

  • CP I represents the Cost Per Impression.
  • TC is the total cost of the Instagram ad campaign.
  • I represents the total number of impressions generated.

How to Use?

Using the Instagram Cost Per Impression Calculator involves the following steps:

  • Input Total Cost ( TC ) : Enter the total cost incurred for the Instagram ad campaign. This cost includes advertising spend, creative production, and any associated expenses.
  • Input Total Impressions ( I ) : Specify the total number of impressions generated by the ad campaign on Instagram.
  • Calculate CPI : Utilize the calculator to determine the Cost Per Impression ( CP I ) by applying the provided formula.

Let’s illustrate the calculation of Cost Per Impression with a practical example:

Suppose an e-commerce company invests $5,000 in an Instagram ad campaign to promote a new product, and the campaign generates a total of 500,000 impressions. Calculate the Cost Per Impression (CPI) for this campaign.

Using the formula:

So, the Cost Per Impression (CPI) for this Instagram ad campaign is $0.01.

Q1: Why is Cost Per Impression (CPI) important for Instagram advertising?

CPI is crucial for assessing the cost-effectiveness of Instagram ad campaigns. It helps advertisers understand how much they spend to reach each potential viewer and allows for comparisons with other marketing channels.

Q2: How can businesses reduce their CPI on Instagram?

Reducing CPI involves optimizing ad targeting, improving ad creatives, and adjusting bidding strategies. Regular monitoring and refining of campaigns can lead to more cost-effective results.

Q3: Is a low CPI always better for ad campaigns?

A low CPI is generally desirable, as it indicates cost-effective advertising. However, it’s essential to consider other performance metrics, such as click-through rates (CTR) and conversion rates, to evaluate the overall effectiveness of an ad campaign.

Conclusion:

The Instagram Cost Per Impression Calculator is a valuable tool for digital marketers and advertisers seeking to maximize the impact of their Instagram ad campaigns. Understanding the cost incurred for each impression is essential for optimizing marketing budgets and achieving a strong return on investment. As Instagram continues to be a popular platform for reaching a diverse and engaged audience, monitoring and improving CPI is crucial for effective advertising strategies. By using this calculator, businesses can make informed decisions and refine their Instagram ad campaigns for greater cost-effectiveness and success in the digital advertising landscape.

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How to Boost and Measure a Post on Instagram

Posted by Sam Lauron on June 06, 2022

Data-Driven Marketing Social Media Best Practices

Thinking of giving your Instagram posts a boost?

If you want to boost your ad spend on social media, Instagram is typically the most effective platform, especially for B2C brands . And boosted posts are a form of advertising that are typically easier to execute than a full-blown ad — and are just as effective at reaching new users.

A lot of time and creative resources go into creating ad content, but boosting a post on Instagram is a great way to get more value out of organic content that you already created in just a few steps.

If you’re ready to put some of your marketing ad spend behind your Instagram content, here’s how to boost and measure a post on Instagram.

Boosted Posts vs. Paid Ads on Instagram

Boosted posts are different from paid ads in a couple of ways.

First, an ad is created with the sole purpose of being an ad. If you see an ad for a brand and then visit their Instagram page, you won’t see that ad among the other posts on its grid.

A boosted post, on the other hand, is an Instagram post that’s already been published that you can then boost to an audience by putting money behind it. Boosting an Instagram post helps amplify its reach.

Another difference between the two is that while you can customize your boosted post’s targeting efforts a bit, you don’t have as many customization options as you do when you create a full ad.

Even so, boosted posts are a great way to give your content a lift in engagement without putting in extra work to create new ad content.

How to Boost a Post on Instagram

To boost a post on Instagram, you need to have a business or professional account. This ensures that you can measure the post’s performance later on, whether natively through Instagram Insights or with another analytics tool. For marketers who are managing a brand’s Instagram, this shouldn’t be an issue.

Now, select the post you want to boost. To increase the chances of your boosted post grabbing the attention of new users, it’s always a good idea to boost a post that’s high quality or has already performed well. Your boosted post should reflect your brand and the action you want people to take. This way, once your post is served to a new audience, they’ll be more inclined to give your brand a follow or take whatever action you’re prompting.

Once you’re ready to boost a post, you can tap the blue button — as shown in the black box at the bottom right corner of the image below. This option is available underneath every Instagram post you publish.

Instagram post with a white shirt against a blue sky that highlights the boost post button.

Next, you’ll walk through the steps of boosting an Instagram post through the app.

Start by choosing a goal for the post. What do you want people to do when they see this boosted post? What results do you want the post to achieve?

The options you have for a goal are:

  • More profile visits
  • More website visits
  • More messages

Select a goal for your boosted Instagram post

Once you’ve determined what the goal of your boosted post is, it’s time to define the audience you want the content to reach.

Instagram provides a couple options for you to choose from. The first option is to choose an automatic audience. This means Instagram will serve your boosted post to people who are similar to your current followers. The automatic option is a great way to increase your audience by getting in front of people who have a higher chance of liking your brand.

Define your audience for a boosted post on Instagram

If you don’t want to leave your post’s fate solely in the hands of Instagram, you can choose to create your own audience. This is a good option if you want to get more specific with who sees your post or you want to target people who are different from your current followers.

Through the customization options, you can choose a specific location, identify audience interests, and determine a certain age or gender that you want to target.

Create a custom audience if you want to reach more people through your boosted Instagram post.

Last but not least, set your boosted post’s budget and duration.

Consider how much money you want to spend on this post daily. The minimum amount is $1 per day and the max is $1,000 per day.

You’ll also determine how long you want this boosted post to be served to people. The duration can be anywhere between one and 30 days. You also have the option to run the boosted post until you manually pause it. As you toggle through the different budget and duration combinations, Instagram will show you how many people they estimate your boosted post will reach.

Set the budget and duration of your boosted Instagram post.

Examples of Boosted Posts on Instagram

Want to see what a boosted Instagram post looks like in action? Let’s take a look at a couple examples of Instagram posts that have been boosted.

Brilliant Earth

The post below is from jewelry brand Brilliant Earth . Brilliant Earth boosted a carousel post, which was originally published on its main page.

A boosted Instagram post from jewelry brand Brilliant Earth.

As you can see in the red box at the top left corner underneath the profile name, boosted posts will be displayed as “Sponsored” when they appear in the feed. This is an element of transparency that Instagram provides to let users know that the post didn’t organically show up in their feed.

When you pop down to the highlighted blue box you can see that the brand’s goal was to get more profile visits with the CTA being “Visit Instagram Profile.”

When you go to Brilliant Earth’s Instagram page , you can see the boosted carousel lives in the grid, as shown in the blue box.

Brilliant Earth Instagram page with a boosted post highlighted.

As we found in our latest benchmark report, carousel posts are highly engaging on Instagram as they often get re-served to users who don’t initially engage, which results in higher impressions. And savvy marketers know that it’s important to lean into what works on Instagram .

If there’s a particular carousel post (or another post type, for that matter) that’s performed well, boost it to get it in front of more people who don’t already follow or engage with your page.

Malin + Goetz

Skincare brand Malin + Goetz offers another great example of how to boost an Instagram post, specifically a Reel.

Reels are a recent addition to the post types you can boost on Instagram , along with images, videos, and carousels. When you boost a Reels, it will show up in both the Reels tab and Explore tab.

A boosted Instagram post from skincare brand Malin + Goetz.

The intention of this boosted post was to promote the brand’s products and encourage users to shop now. By tapping on that prompt, users are taken to the brand’s shoppable page.

If you head over to the skincare brand’s Instagram page , you’ll see the boosted Reels had already been posted in the grid, as shown in the blue box below.

Malin + Goetz Instagram page with a highlighted boosted post.

How to Measure a Boosted Post on Instagram

If you’re investing resources into boosted content, then it’s essential to stay on top of those metrics as much as you would organic content.

Here are the steps to take to measure a boosted post on Instagram natively.

Visit Account Insights

In your Account Insights tab, you can access both organic engagement and ad performance. To check out the results of a boosted post, visit the Ad Tools tab.

Review ad results

Select the boosted post you want to review metrics for and the ad insights for that post will pop up. Under ad insights, you’ll see an overview of the boosted post’s metrics which include:

  • People reached
  • Content interactions
  • Profile activity

From there, you can dive into the exact results of your boosted post.

The Ad Insights dashboard on the Instagram app.

Get a glimpse at audience insights

The Insights tab will also provide demographics of the audience your boosted post reached, including the age and gender of users who saw it or interacted with it.

Audience gender insights for a boosted post on Instagram.

How to Measure a Boosted Post on Instagram in Rival IQ

If you’re looking for a more detailed or visual report of your brand’s boosted Instagram posts, you can use an all-in-one social media analytics tool like Rival IQ.

Here’s how to measure the performance of your boosted posts in Rival IQ.

Access your private data

Before you can dive into the results, you will need to have your brand’s Instagram account linked so you can access your private Instagram data.

Next, since you can’t measure the performance of competitors’ boosted posts, make sure that you’re analyzing a landscape where you have private data.

Filter the results

Under Your Private Data, head to the Facebook Ads tab, similar to how you’d go to the Facebook Ads center if you were to review the analytics within the native app.

Facebook Ads tab in the Rival IQ dashboard.

At the top of the page, as shown below, you’ll see a dropdown menu for Boosted Posts. You can choose to exclude boosted posts if you want to measure Facebook ad campaigns without boosted posts. Or, you can filter to see *only* boosted posts.

Rival IQ allows you to filter results for boosted posts on Instagram.

Once you’ve filtered the view, scroll down to the Campaigns section to see an overview of your boosted posts including ad spend, results, cost per result, and more metrics.

An overview of campaign results for boosted Instagram posts in Rival IQ.

Campaign names that begin with “Instagram post” are boosted posts on Instagram, which is what you’ll want to look for when analyzing the results of this content type.

Dive into the metrics

If you click “view more” underneath the campaigns section, you can see more details of the campaign results including audience demographics. Metrics like age and gender help to understand who your boosted posts reached and whether or not the results align with the goal of your boosted posts.

Age and gender insights when measuring a boosted Instagram post in Rival IQ.

Finally, see where your ad spend had the most value by analyzing the placement and platform results for your boosted Instagram posts.

Rival IQ's analytics tool shows the results of a boosted Instagram post by placement.

Key Takeaways

If you want to boost an Instagram post, it can easily be done through the Instagram app in just a few steps.

As far as performance goes, it all comes down to experimentation. Figure out which posts to boost, how much money to spend, and how long you want the ad to run — then measure and learn from there.

To sum it up, here are a few considerations to keep in mind when you boost Instagram posts:

  • Boosted posts differ from paid ads but still show up as sponsored content to users
  • You can boost all Instagram post types including images, videos, carousels, Stories, and Reels
  • Consider boosting posts that have already performed well organically

After you’ve boosted an Instagram post, measure the results within Instagram itself or by using an analytics tool to get a deeper understanding of each metric and how it relates to your brand’s overall performance — especially compared to the competition.

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Sam Lauron is a freelance writer based in Austin, TX. She currently works with creative brands and B2B companies to support their content writing efforts and SEO strategy, and has a writing expertise in digital marketing, branding, and entrepreneurship. When she’s not writing, she spends her time listening to true crime podcasts, tackling DIY projects, and soaking up the sunny Austin weather.

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cost per profile visit instagram

cost per profile visit instagram

Guide to Instagram advertising costs, a handy breakdown

cost per profile visit instagram

✔️ Technically Reviewed And Approved By Nomadic Team

Digital marketing guides | social media marketing, november 10, 2023.

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Instagram remains one of the best platforms for social media advertising. It’s connected with Facebook so for many, it’s easier to target an audience based on Facebook’s data. Most Instagram ads are also non-intrusive so it’s highly unlikely to disturb one’s audience.

When considering the suitability of Instagram ads for your business, you need to understand the cost and how to budget. Knowing this helps you make the right decisions.

How much do Instagram ads cost?

cost per profile visit instagram

The cost of running Instagram ads depends on several factors like your budget, ad type, and the industry. Below is a breakdown of the average costs and how they influence your overall ad budget for Instagram:

Average CPC Instagram

On Instagram, CPC represents the cost per click. When advertisers talk about this metric, they typically refer to link clicks. But for Instagram, it signifies clicks on ads, which may include clicking to react to a post or view an image.

To know if you have a good CPC, compare the value with your previous ones. However, if you’re new to running Instagram ads, the average CPC should range from $0.40 – $0.70 after considering all important metrics.

For ads with a destination URL, the Instagram CPC ranges from $0.50 – $0.95.

Why do I have a high Instagram CPC?

In most cases, your CPC on Instagram depends on your cost per thousand impressions (CPM) and click-through rate (CTR):

  • Before reviewing your CPC to find out why it is high, first review your Instagram CPM (cost per thousand impressions) to see whether it is also high or if it’s low. A high CPM leads to a high CPC.
  • After reviewing your CPM, check the value of your CTR (click-through rate).
  • High CTRs reduce CPC, while low ones may increase your CPC, even with a low CPM.

If this all sounds too complicated, don’t worry! We’ll get into the details and explain everything in the coming sections. 

Apart from the CTR and CPM problems, other possible causes of a high CPC are:

  • Irrelevant messaging
  • Uncatcy ad texts, including headlines
  • Unconvincing images or video in ads — demonstrating low creativity
  • Unconvincing offers in ads

Cost per impression Instagram

Cost per impression, otherwise called cost per thousand impressions (CPM) is a metric that considers your ad spend and impressions altogether. Instagram calculates CPM by dividing your spending by impression and multiplying the result by 1,000.

For example, if your spend was $3 and you derived 4,000 impressions for that cost, your CPM is $0.75. (($3/4,000) * 1000) = $0.75

What’s a good CPM on Instagram?

A good CPM is relative and typically depends on the audience you’re targeting and how you’re targetting them. Most advertisers and marketers determine a good CPM by comparing the ad with their previous set of ads or ad sets. However, if you’re new to Instagram ads, a good CPM ranges from $2.50 – $3.50.

According to WordStream, Facebook tends to have higher CPMs — 2x more compared to Instagram. However, Facebook CPCs tend to be lower by half compared to Instagram.

Why is my Instagram CPM high?

There’s a wide variety of reasons causing your high Instagram CPM. Here are some of them:

  • Technical problems on Facebook & Instagram
  • Ad fatigue (when your target audience has been bombarded with your ads to the point where they are tired of seeing them, which makes them not pay attention anymore)
  • Low relevance score
  • Restrictive placements (automatic placements may be a better option)
  • Restrictive campaign objectives

Instagram bidding

cost per profile visit instagram

Instagram bidding is a concept that determines your ad outcomes. A good bid strategy can help the business get measurable results, including increased sales and customer reach. When choosing a bid strategy, you need to consider how you will measure your success and go for a suitable option.

The three types of Instagram bidding strategies:

Spend-based bidding

Goal-based bidding, manual bidding.

This concept focuses on spending your entire budget and getting the best results from it. You can maximize the delivery and conversions possible from your budget. You can also spend your budget and pivot your attention on the highest-value purchases.

Goal-based bidding can either be:

  • Cost per result goal: This strategy requires you to keep the price around the average cost regardless of market conditions.
  • ROAS goal (return on ad spend): Here, the advertiser or business keeps the return on ad spend around an average amount during the campaign.

As the name implies, manual bidding helps you control how much you can bid across auctions instead of allowing Instagram to dynamically bid based on value goals or cost.

Types of Instagram ads

When running Instagram ads, you can decide to choose from a range of options. Let’s break them down.

What is a “boost post” on Instagram?

When you boost a post on Instagram, it appears on the feed of active users who don’t follow the page. Posts that you promote may also appear in the Instagram Stories and the Explore section.

Similar to any typical ad campaign, an Instagram boost post will help your business reach target audiences based on interest, location, and other factors.

Before boosting your post on Instagram, you need to ensure you’re on a business account. At the moment, Meta doesn’t support boosting on personal accounts, whether for Instagram Stories or typical posts. It’s also essential to choose an achievable goal before boosting and adding a CTA.

Sponsored posts on Instagram, cost and relevance

cost per profile visit instagram

A sponsored post is another name for a promoted post or boosted post on Instagram. Businesses use sponsored posts to reach a wider audience. On the platform, a sponsored post can either be promoted or paid.

Here’s a breakdown of how a paid sponsorship differs from a promoted one:

  • Promoted : Using this method, Instagram allows you to create a custom target audience based on factors like age, interests, gender, and location.
  • Paid : In this type of sponsorship, the business pays a user (influencer) on Instagram to promote a service or product to their audience.

Types of Instagram ads based on ad formats

Instagram ads can take on different formats, depending on your campaign strategy . Here’s a breakdown of the different formats:

cost per profile visit instagram

Sample photo ad

Image ads are the fundamental ad formats on Instagram. They contain a footer and an optional ad copy. If you’re trying to convey a single strong visual content, an image is one of the best options to opt for.

Even though image ads are helpful at any stage in sales, there can be limitations. Many times, videos can convey a story better than an image does. But, an image may also be a faster technique to pass a message, especially if your audience has a short attention span.

On Instagram, image ads or photo ads are published alongside captions and a CTA (call to action). The CTA could be a button to sign up, install an app or extension, and make a call.

cost per profile visit instagram

Sample video ad for content creation course

In many cases, video ads give a more detailed breakdown of products and services. Unlike images, videos typically contain different frames of images and sound. Video ads on Instagram are said to generate three times as much user engagement compared to their image counterpart.

Most users prefer video ads because they find them more engaging and mentally easier to process. However, it’s important that the video content is not intrusive as it would lead to minimal ad outcomes.

Common examples of brands performing well with video are LG, Sparkle in Pink, and Porsche. All of those brands ensure they invoke emotions in viewers, making them some of the best to run ads on Instagram.

Collection and shopping ads

Collection and shopping ads on Instagram are best for call-action and eCommerce campaigns . They preview as photos or videos and allow users to click on them to explore the brand and the product. When users click these ads, Instagram redirects them to catalogs or websites, depending on the setup.

Shopping ads contain all the necessary information about a product to help the users know what they are about to purchase. It’s also important that brands uphold their promises about their products for an effective campaign.

Collection ads are displayed as a carousel of shopping ads. Similar to shopping ads, the link to the brand for the product is typically embedded on the same page.

Explore ads

cost per profile visit instagram

Explore ads appear under the Explore section of Instagram. Statistics show close to 50% of active Instagram users visit the Explore section. When setting up your campaign, you may need to indicate in your settings whether you would like your ads to display in the Explore section.

Running explore ads can be beneficial as it allows users to discover your page easily. Most users on the Explore page are looking to “explore” and follow new brands or people. So, if you get it right, your ads can have a high conversion rate by using the Explore tab.

cost per profile visit instagram

Depending on your industry, you should consider testing Reels-style content . Reels is a feature gathering a lot of attention on Instagram, especially on the Explore page. A reel is simply video content with a 9:16 aspect ratio. It’s a similar feature to TikTok videos or YouTube Shorts.

Carousel ads

Carousel ads help businesses to display videos and series of images in a post. Compared to typical images or videos, carousel ads are significantly interactive. They are common among eCommerce companies since they allow users to pick from a variety of options instead of a single image or video of the product.

Another great application of carousel ads is storytelling. They help in crafting compelling narratives and display different aspects of one’s brand and products, which increases the possibility of driving conversions.

Carousel ads can also make a brand’s Instagram profile more visually appealing. With consistent themes across multiple slides, it can be eye-catching to potential customers.

How much is an Instagram ad?

From our review, we have come to the conclusion that the Instagram ads cost depends on your bidding model, which can be CPC or CPM. However, most companies on average spend between $0.50 to $1 per link click. If you’re in an industry with high competition, you may pay as high as $3.00 per click for your Instagram ad.

Instagram ad cost per month?

According to a study by WebFX, Instagram ads cost between $0.00 – $500.00 per month for over 53% of individuals. However, marketers spend over $5,000 a month on Instagram ads. The specific amount you spend on ads will largely depend on your cost type, daily budget, and competition.

How to budget Instagram ads

cost per profile visit instagram

On average, most brands allocate 0% to 20% of their total ad budget to Instagram ads. What you decide to allocate to ads depends on the company’s unique needs and goals.

Pro tip: When starting out with Instagram ads, ramp up your budgets slowly. After testing your ad with a low budget, ensure that your product gives a significant conversion. If it doesn’t, make adjustments to your ad format or copy, depending on your set target audience. There are definitely certain industry-specific approaches you can take as well as different strategies you can follow to ensure your budget is well spent and you get your money’s worth, but this will take time and practice to properly figure it out. You can always find professional help if your efforts are not showing your desired results.

Instagram ad cost calculator

Instagram ad calculators like that from Convoboss and 4B Marketing can be helpful and they typically decide how much you spend based on the following factors:

  • Bid price : Your bid price determines how much you spend on your Instagram ad campaign. Since Instagram has a high bid amount, you may need to pay more compared to other social media platforms for impressions and clicks.
  • Ad relevance : Instagram wants to show relevant content to its audience. So, the more relevant your ad is, the higher your relevant score, and the higher the leads.
  • Estimated action rate : The estimated action rate is based on the possibility of people acting on the ad. So, if Instagram believes people will likely act on your ad, they will prioritize it. With that, there’s a high chance of obtaining a lower bid amount, thereby increasing your leads and conversions.
  • Competition : When trying to reach a certain demographic, competitors are unavoidable. Your CPC may increase when trying to bid against the competitors.

So, are Instagram ads worth it?

Instagram ads are definitely worth it and can be cost-effective when done right. Optimizing your ad for results will help boost engagement and generate traffic for your website. It’s also easier to build a following for your brand with Instagram ads.

It’s undeniable that Instagram has become a popular space for users to research products and services. This general knowledge proves that Instagram should be one of the go-to platforms for brands looking to push out their identity, including their products or services. So, it’s beyond doubt that running Instagram ads is a great step for your business.

Need an agency to help optimize your Instagram ads?

Creating an Instagram ad campaign can be a challenge, especially when you need to optimize your budget. It may require learning, analysis, and expertise to effectively run ads for yourself.

Every industry differs and requires a unique approach to its ad campaigns. So, you should consider reaching out to Instagram ad experts like us. Here at Nomadic Advertising, we will help you build a working ad strategy on Instagram and optimize your budget for maximum returns. Reach out to us for a FREE 30-minute consultation and learn everything we can do for your business!

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See How Your Socials Stack Up in Later's Instagram Industry Benchmarks Report

Discover the average engagement and reach rates for 30 top industries 🚀

Ever wonder how your Instagram performance stacks up against your industry peers?

In our free report , we share the average performance metrics (including reach and engagement rate benchmarks) for 30 top industries.

Plus, so much more:

Five industry-specific case studies 

Industry performance trends: 2019-2021

Actionable tips on how to improve your metrics

Performance benchmarks by follower size 

It’s the ultimate resource to take your social media strategy to the next level in 2022!

Discover the average Instagram reach and engagement rate benchmarks for 30 top industries. Download Later’s free 2022 industry benchmarks report now:

Which Industries Are Featured in Later’s Instagram Industry Benchmark Report 2022? 

Our free report includes the average performance metrics, split by follower size, for the following 30 industries:

Arts and Culture

Entertainment

Family and Children

Fashion Apparel

Finance and Business

Food and Beverage

Health and Wellness

Home Decor and Furnishings

Jewelry and Accessories

Makeup and Beauty

News and Media

Outdoors and Nature

Photography

Real Estate and Construction

Spirituality and Philosophy

Sports and Fitness

Travel and Tourism

Wedding and Bridal

It also includes deep-dive case studies, with actionable advice from industry experts, for  the following industries: 

Fashion Apparel, featuring @allegrashaw  

Food and Beverage, featuring @alfred and @willedmond

Health and Wellness, featuring @ritual

Home Decor and Furnishings, featuring @thejungalow

Travel and Tourism, featuring @hey_ciara and @1hotels

How to Use Later’s Instagram Industry Benchmarks Report to Inform Your Instagram Strategy

Metrics matter on Instagram — they tell you whether you’re on the right track or not.

But what qualifies as a “good” engagement or reach rate, and how do they differ from industry to industry?

Enter: Later’s Instagram Industry Benchmarks Report.

By analyzing over 63M posts, we calculated the average reach and engagement rates for top 30 industries, split by follower category — so you can accurately benchmark your brand or business and set realistic goals.

Once you’ve got your goals locked in, you can use Later's Instagram Analytics to closely measure how your posts are performing — all in an easy-to-use dashboard.

Later's Instagram Analytics lets you track up to 12 months' worth of Instagram feed posts and stories, so you can see exactly what's performed best and filter by key metrics, such as engagement rate, reach, likes, comments, and more.

It’s the easiest way to get a visual overview of what posts are performing best for your account, so you can tailor your strategy for the best results.

Plus, it’s all available from the comfort of your desktop screen — and you can export all your key Instagram metrics as a CSV file in one click. 

Goodbye, copy and pasting stats from your Instagram app! 

When it comes to improving your marketing strategy, tracking your metrics is a no-brainer. 

By understanding what motivates your audience through Instagram analytics tools, you can better tailor your content for a boost in reach, engagement, and growth on the platform!

Amanda Demeku

Amanda is a Content Marketing Specialist based in Toronto. When she’s not busy writing you can catch her playing tennis or sipping all the pop-culture tea. Say hi on Instagram — @amandademeku

Plan, schedule, and automatically publish your social media posts with Later.

Related articles, how to create a social media report in 2024 (+ free template).

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5 of the Best Instagram Analytics Tools to Help You Grow in 2022

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Profile Visits Campaigns

The best performance-based Instagram marketing available — all with guaranteed results and clear pricing.

Features & Details

  • How It Works
  • Create Campaign

100% Real Instagram Traffic

Rise doesn’t utilize or associate with any software or practices that inflate engagement, fake activity, use click farms, or any other disingenuous methods. We won’t be giving away any iPhones or cash to get you visitors.

All campaigns utilize premium Facebook and Instagram Ads delivered from your account in tandem with ads from Rise.

Guaranteed Results

Expect guaranteed results for your marketing budget without guessing.

Grow Profile Visits

Rise Profile Visits campaigns are designed to send traffic to your Instagram account by showcasing your best content. Get your content in front of new prospective fans who can Engage and/or Follow you.

Showcase Your Best Content Rise Profile Visit campaigns focus on taking your best content, usually video, and effectively targets people who may be genuinely interested. You'll be guaranteed to see a significant increase in your Profile Visits. The traffic results in increased engagement and new followers. Increase Your Reach Your content will be seen by hundreds of thousands, or millions of people who are specially targeted for your content. This means more people seeing your posts and more opportunities to engage in a crowded feed. Follower Growth While Engagement is the first priority with any Rise Instagram campaign, we aim to build your followers as well. The focus is on quality, and less on quantity. Rise is not a good fit for you if you're expecting huge follower numbers for low cost. Reports and Analytics Rise reports on the key deliverable metrics for each campaign. You'll have access to see campaign stats via weekly email updates and accessible in your Dashboard anytime. How It Works

Create your campaign.

Get started instantly. It's very fast, you don't need to create an account, and it can be done in just a couple of minutes.

You'll chose the type, launch date, and then fill in some details for your campaign.

Quality Assurance

Each campaign goes through a quality assurance check, where an expert will review and ensure your campaign is optimized and ready. 

Once your campaign has gone through the queue it will go live. 

Showcase Ads

Rise runs highly effective ad campaigns from your Instagram profile that place your best content in the feeds and stories of the people who are most likely to engage with you.

Our audience data is unparalleled in the music industry. Your campaign will be automatically optimized to run the best possible ads for your profile to obtain your results. 

Rise advertises to proprietary warm audiences of listeners who are interested in your genre, or even in specific artists that are like you.

Additional Ads

In some Profile Visits campaigns, Rise will run traffic from our music discovery brand, Tout, which has more than 900,000+ (growing by thousands per day) music fans who have subscribed to receive music recommendations based on their listening preferences.

This enables us to position you as a Featured Artist from an objective editorial perspective, driving additional exposure to your profile.

Rise Does The Rest

Sit back and watch your audience grow. You'll receive email updates letting you know the status of your campaign, or you can check in your Dashboard anytime.

Want more information about how this campaign works? Read our detailed guide here:

Instagram faq.

When you create your campaign, an estimated timeframe will be displayed. The number of days will change automatically based on your campaign type and budget.

Everything. Your budget is fully inclusive to obtain the results advertised. There will be no hidden fees, percentages of ad-spend, or other old school costs to worry about.

Rise does not guarantee specific follower numbers, and any company or person who does are violating the terms of service. We strongly discourage participating in that type of activity, as it could jeopardize your account and inevitably add bot followers to your account.

Profile Visits campaigns guarantee a specific number of impressions and visits.

Campaigns are advertised to the markets with the highest engagement. What that means is advertising where data tells us people are most likely to listen and take high value actions like Likes, Comments, Shares, and Follows. This is based on the data we have available at scale. This changes frequently according to new data and trends.

All creative for Profile Visits campaigns will be your choice to upload when you create your campaign. You’ll be able to add multiple different videos and photo creatives.

Rise campaigns are tracked with internal analytics tools to ensure you are getting the results from your campaign. Even if you have other paid or organic growth simultaneously, your results will be tracked separately with Rise.

No, we will never ask for your passwords or directly access your accounts. You will provide secure advertiser access via Facebook Business Manager.

Refunds are accepted prior to the campaign going live. After that, the funds are committed to the campaign for the duration and cannot be refunded.

Create a Campaign

Create your Instagram Profile Visits campaign now and start seeing the growth immediately! Enter any budget and our campaign creator will show your guaranteed results before you start your campaign. It takes just a few minutes to create a campaign.

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Complete Guide to Facebook and Instagram Advertising Cost

Instagram advertising cost

When you think of display advertising costs on the social network generally, There is a lot to think of and to examine carefully before jumping to a conclusion.

The reason is that you need to be careful and take some time trying to understand advertising costs before creating your Ad campaigns.

There are cost variations on each of the advertising platforms and it all depends on which of the platforms you choose to use for your advertising campaign.

Also, the type of ad campaigns such as carousel ads, video views you run on a social network such as PPC and CPM , target location, niche, and time may also in different ways have some impact on your Facebook ad campaign and Instagram advertising cost.

Have in mind that the automatic bidding system, CTR, engagement, and relevance score may also significantly determine your Instagram campaign ad cost.

We understand the confusion and tend to address all those in this post.

Table of Contents

Most asked questions concerning Display advertising cost

This post is focused on Facebook and Instagram advertising costs, here are some of the most asked questions relating to advertising costs on these platforms.

Read till the end so you won’t miss any valuable information.

#Q1. How much does it cost to advertise on Facebook?

#Q2. How much does it cost to advertise on Instagram?

Let’s just start by defining what advertising cost is before moving on.

What is the Cost of Display Advertising

This is simply the amount of money you pay for an advertising campaign. This cost can be subdivided into Cost per Click (CPC), and Cost per 1000 Mille (CPM) which are all online advertising price models.

Now let’s look at the various cost of ads on different platforms.

How much do Facebook ads cost?

The cost of advertising on Facebook or Facebook ads cost per click entirely depends on the type of campaign.

Usually, the cost of promoting your Facebook page for likes and followers is different from the cost per app install, CPP costs, and cost-effective results.

Facebook advertising has a bidding system that takes factors such as the timing of your campaign, the bidding strategy of your campaign, your choice of placement, relevance score, and your target audience.

With these factors put together, your Facebook advertising cost or the average cost of Facebook ads will be determined.

However, Here is a great breakdown of cost per click by campaign objective by AdExpresso

Facebook Cost per CPC campaign

As you can see in the above image, the average cost of Facebook ads or an average cost of CPC was on the rise throughout the year for clicks, impressions even the overall volume of ad spend rise towards the festive seasons.

On the other hand, ad performance for performance marketing such as clicks and lead prices went down as the year moves on.

In the first quarter of 2019, the cost of advertising on Facebook significantly from an average of $2.55 in Q1 2018 to just $0.55 in 2019. Marketers or brands doing performance marketing will tend to benefit from this price drop a lot.

Facebook ads pricing

An overview of Facebook ads pricing shows more detailed information about the price of ads considering various factors as discussed below.

Facebook Cost Per Click by days of the week

Facebook Cost Per Click

The cost is based on research carried out by Adespresso in Facebook cost summary of Facebook ads cost per click in 2018 and 2019.

To round up Facebook Ad cost, here is a video that helps explain how the bidding and other advertising cost is worked.

How much do Instagram ads cost?

Marketing strategy on a social media platform like Instagram and Facebook often involves setting a required daily budget, bid amount, and ad placements among many other ad strategies that may lead to highly relevant ad copies.

The Cost of advertising on Instagram is not also fixed but rather works on a bid system that allows the highest bidder to acquire the ad space.

Since Instagram ads are very competitive due to their numerous benefits to brands.

You should expect your Instagram ads price (cost of Instagram ads) to hover around $0.20 to $2.5 per click.

If you decide to run your Instagram ad campaigns per the CPM pricing model. You should expect to pay between $3.5 to $5.5 per 1000 views or visits.

Even though Instagram is part of the Facebook Ad system, research from various experts and companies shows that It is more profitable to advertise on Instagram.

Instagram ads price more than Facebook Ads which is one thing you must know.

You may also want to read: Facebook Ads Manager Ultimate guide

However, you will get a bit better results from your ads on Instagram compared to Facebook ads cost per click.

In a recent study, we found that demographics play a vital role in the cost of Instagram advertising . Generally, the average cost of CPC for all ages is between $0.55 cents to $0.85 cents

Engagement levels of these groups vary and so does the ad cost. For example, the average cost per click for a group of 25 to 34 years is between $0.95 cents to $1.50 dollars per click.

While targeting younger people aged between 13yrs to 17yrs costs on average $0.35 cents per click.

Another factor that influences your Instagram ad costs is festive periods when there is more competition.

Instagram ad campaigns’ cost increase during major holidays or events such as Christmas, Black Friday, Labor Day, and Cyber Monday.

It is also natural to understand that your target location also influences the cost of advertising.

For instance, you should expect to pay more when your target audience location is in California, USA, and pay far less when your Target audience location is in Lagos, Nigeria.

In any case, here is another video that explains how much it cost you on advertising on Instagram and possible things that influence your Instagram ad cost.

Comparing Facebook and Instagram advertising

When thinking of which platform to advertise on between Facebook and Instagram ads . Well, there are both benefits and disadvantages to choosing to advertise only on one of the platforms.

Both are great platforms but depending on what you want to advertise and who your target audience is, Facebook might work better at times while on the other hand, while Instagram might work better for some ads.

Here is a great comparison of Facebook and Instagram advertising strategies.

Creating Effective Facebook and Instagram Ads

There are very important things you need to consider when creating ads on Facebook and Instagram.

Since these two work similarly and use one platform. we are going to lay some tips to help you gain great results with your Ad campaign.

Define your audience

One of the top keys to getting a high ROI on your advertising is to figure out who your target audience is and that applies to Facebook and Instagram.

Since Facebook has a split test tool to enable you to test your ads, for several days before running ads or your Instagram campaign.

This tool can come in handy when you want to know which ad sets are performing the way you want.

For getting the right audience to target, the Facebook audience insight tool is of the best tools to figure out who to target.

Create attractive offers

Your offers need to be attractive. This means offering your potential customers offers they can’t afford to turn down.

This can be your service, product or price.

It must be attractive and should reflect in your Ad’s image and text. You will need to create very attractive images or videos that present your offer.

Split Test Your Ads

Slip testing on Facebook and Instagram Ads helps in many ways. First, it helps you determine which ad works for you.

You can split-test based on audience location, age, time and many other data sets.

Second, It prevents unnecessary ad spending meaning it will help you avoid spending your ad budget on an audience that doesn’t need your offer.

This means, saving your ad money and making it work more efficiently for a successful ad campaign .

Split testing is aimed at helping you determine what type of ad you should run and who, where and when to target your audience making your ads more profitable.

Use the Automatic bidding

Bid amount, as well as ad budget, play a crucial role when it comes to Facebook and Instagram advertising.

It is always better to use automatic bidding for better results especially when your ad placements are targeting two social platforms (Facebook and Instagram)

Use Landing Pages

Landing pages are of great help when it comes to running a successful campaign.

Landing pages hold the key to making your audience directed to the right pages, links and call-to-action buttons.

Setting up the right landing pages helps improve your Facebook and Instagram ad relevance score.

The more time people spend on your landing page, the more it will positively impact your ads.

Click-through rate (CTR) and time spent on landing pages help increase your ad relevance score which in the long run will reduce your ad cost and increase your Ad ROI .

Retarget and scale

This is making sure you bring all those lost customers back to your page and make them your loyal customers.

There are a lot of people that may interact with your ads but won’t take any action, some may visit your page and go as far as the check-out level but will leave without buying.

You don’t let those people go, you use the data provided to you by Facebook Pixel and get those people back to your landing pages and get them to do what you need them to do.

There is so much power in re-targeting that you can use to grow your business . Don’t let this go to waste. Re-Target those people that leave without converting or buying to become your loyal customers.

Conclusions

The key to getting very cheap but quality traffic on Facebook and Instagram is targeting the right audience.

As stated, you need to first define your audience based on their demographics, location, even income levels, their educational status, ethnicity etc.

Testing your defined audience will help a lot in scaling down your ad spend as you will focus only on the right audience.

With this, your relevance score will be improved as your CTR and engagement are improved.

running cost-effective ad campaigns requires determining the type of ad

Marketing strategy use on social networks is different which should be taken into account.

Factors such as bid amount, ad placements, and target audience among several factors should always be strategically evaluated to determine the goal of creating highly relevant ad copies to reach users.

Optimising your ad campaign periodically should be a priority. Never create ads and forget to optimise your campaigns.

You have to check on it periodically and remove what is not working and focus on what works best for your campaign.

Cost of Facebook and Instagram Ads in 2020

Video showing how much are Instagram ads

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Average Cost Per Engagement for Instagram Ads

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What does cost per engagement (CPE) mean on Instagram?

Instagram CPE means cost per engagement, which compares the cost to the total amount of engagements on a Instagram post that include:

  • likes and reactions
  • clicks to profile
  • link clicks
  • clicks on media

Most advertisers don’t look at CPE as a primary metric to measure performance, but more as an indicator of how well the audience is responding to an ad.

An ad with high engagement could also prove useful as a display of social proof. In fact, some advertisers will run ads with the engagement campaign objective to amass likes and comments as a way to hack social proof with Facebook ads .

Cost per engagement is calculated for Instagram ads by dividing your spend by the number of engagements. For example, if your spend was $100 and you got 125 engagements, your cost per engagement was $0.80 ($100/125=$0.80).

What is a good cost per engagement for Instagram ads?

A good cost per engagement on Instagram is always going to be different from one advertiser to another and from one campaign to another. Different types of campaigns and audiences will have very different levels of engagement, for example content ads to a top-of-funnel audience will most likely have more engagement than a bottom-of-funnel sales offer campaign.

To know if your cost per engagement on Instagram is good or not with your new ad, ad set, or campaign, you should compare it to the best CPE you’ve gotten for similar audiences and similar campaign objectives. You will always have lower CPEs when running ads in engagement campaigns because Instagram prioritizes delivering your ads to users who are most likely to engage.

You can also use the chart above to see what the average Instagram cost per engagement is and compare it to yours, or you can join our Facebook community where you can ask folks in your same industry what their CPE is to get a baseline and tips on how to reduce your cost per engagement.

Why is my Instagram cost per engagement so high?

A high cost per engagement on Facebook can be a result of several things, including:

  • campaign objective is something other than the engagement objective
  • ad creative is not attention grabbing
  • ad topic, angle, or imagery is not resonating with the target audience

The only time you should really be worried about your cost per engagement is if you’re running campaigns specifically for getting engagement as a way to improve brand awareness or wanting engagement on an ad to reuse in a more conversion-focused campaign.

Most advertisers are better off measuring performance of their campaigns by:

  • cost per purchase
  • cost per lead
  • cost per mobile app install

If for example you’re running campaigns with the conversions objective and optimizing for the purchases event, your cost per purchase is the best indicator of whether or not your campaign is performing well, even if it has low engagement.

However, ads with low engagement could potentially decrease your relevance score, hurt your deliverability, and increase your CPMs .

How do I lower my Instagram cost per engagement?

If you’re running campaigns for the purpose of getting engagements and your Instagram cost per engagement is too high, you can do the following four things to lower it:

  • work on lowering your CPM ( see here )
  • choose the engagement campaign objective when setting up a new campaign
  • test different ad creatives and copy to encourage engagement
  • test different audiences to ensure your ads are resonating with your targeting audience

Remember, if you’re not running campaigns for the sole purpose of engagement, you probably shouldn’t worry too much about your CPE because it is not a primary metric to judge the performance of your Instagram ad campaigns.

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Instagram CPM Rates in 2023

Last updated on January 26th, 2023 at 04:21 pm

Instagram is a social media platform used extensively for photo and video sharing, owned by Facebook, Inc. It was created by Kevin Systrom and Mike Krieger and launched in October 2010 exclusively on iOS. An Android version of Instagram was launched 2 years later in April 2012. The app allows users to upload various photos and videos to the service in their feed, which can be edited with one of the many filters provided to the user. These photos can be organized with tags (i.e. tagging any other user in a picture) and location information. An account’s posts can be shared publicly or with pre-approved followers. Users can browse and go through other users’ content by tags and locations, and view trending content in their search feed (which is personalized according to the user’s liking and search history). Users can “like” photos, and follow other users of their liking to add their content to a feed.

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Advantages of Instagram Ads: Benefits  

  • Increased engagement- Instagram is highly efficient when it comes to advertising any particular brand, their products. A research had shown that Instagram has more engagement, 58 times more per follower than Facebook or Twitter.
  • Immense reach- With half the generation of the world using Instagram, it guarantees the immense reach a single Ad on Instagram might get. Companies can hire social media influencers with millions of followers to advertise their product in their feed.
  • High conversion rates.
  • Free Ads- Advertising on Instagram comes for free. So it becomes easier for various companies to showcase and promote their products.
  • Sponsored Post- Sponsored posts are when celebrities or any influencer on the internet do a collaboration with a brand or company. These posts have “Paid sponsorship” written under their username.
  • Reach target audience- As mentioned previously, active Instagram users are generally below the age range of 30. Considering this if the target audience is millennials or the generation Z, Instagram is the best place to advertise.
  • Lower CPC (cost per click)- Instagram offers a lower cost per click compared to Adword, Facebook, Twitter, etc. Even the cost per view of any video is less.
  • Increased visibility- New customers can be gained.
  • Multi-channel connection.

Instagram Ads Formats:

cost per profile visit instagram

Instagram advertisers grew from 1 million to 2 million and more last September. For Instagram Ads, there is a proper image size which needs to be maintained.

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  • Instagram landscape image size: 1200 x 628 pixels.

All the images should be either JPG or PNG file format.

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All image files are 30MB max.

All image and video captions max are 2,200 characters, but 125 is mostly recommended.

  • Instagram vertical image: 600 x 750 pixels.

Images can be cropped.

  • Instagram video landscape: 600 x 315 pixels, minimum.

Video format should either be MP4 or MOV.

Video size d=should be 4 MB.

Maximum video length is 60 seconds.

Video max frames are 30fps for all formats.

  • Instagram square video ad: 600 x 600 pixels.
  • Instagram vertical video ad: 600 x 750 pixels.
  • Instagram Stories image ad: 1080 x 1920 pixels.

Maximum image size is 30MB.

Image format JPG or PNG.

  • Instagram Stories video ad: 1080 x 1920 pixels.

All formats should be either MP4 or MOV.

Max video size is 4GB.

Must have a resolution minimum of 720p.

  • Instagram carousel image ad: 1080 x 1080 pixels.

All formats should be either JPG or PNG.

Max image size is 30MB per image/card.

Instagram allows 2-10 images/cards per ad.

  • Instagram carousel video ad: 600 x 600 pixels minimum.

All formats should be MP4.

Max video size is 4GB per video/card.

Max video length for is 60 seconds.

Instagram allows 2-10 videos/cards per ad.

Instagram Ads CPM Rates

Instagram ads on a cost per mille (CPM) basis, focusing on impressions, is most likely to pay around $5 per 1,000 visitors on average. Salesforce had once said its advertisers pay an average CPM of $6.29. It varies from company to company.

“The cost of Instagram ads are influenced by many factors — everything from your audience to your ad feedback,” says Andrew Tate from AdEspresso .

How to get started with Instagram Ads?

  • Navigate to Facebook’s Ad manager.
  • Set your marketing objective. Instagram advertising works on Brand awareness, reach, traffic, app installs, engagement, video views, and conversions.
  • Figure out your target audience.
  • Choose your Placements.
  • Set up your budget and Ad schedule.
  • Create the Instagram Ad.

How to Calculate ROI with Instagram Ads?

The traditional percentage calculation method is generally used.

Suppose the total sales worth received is ‘Y’ USD. Let’s say you’ve spent ‘X’ amount of dollars on the influencer so you subtract that amount from the total sales i.e. (Y-X) which gives you another say ‘Z’ USD.

Now if you want to calculate the percentage of returns from your initial investment of ‘X’ dollars, you just use the traditional percentage calculation method. This means:

{(Y-X)/X} x 100 percent i.e. (Z/X) x 100 percent.

Instagram ads are definitely the way forward in this fast moving 21st century. Instagram is the social media platform where people share instances from their personal lives in the form of digital pictures and follow the people they like. This platform is an amazing way to connect with people throughout the world, through pictures. There are 2 million monthly advertisers on Instagram.

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Contributor: Sayantani Saha

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Digital Uncovered

How Much Do Instagram Ads Cost in India?

Picture of Sooraj Divakaran

  • June 18, 2022

Table of Contents

With more than a billion active users on Instagram, this social networking platform is winning hearts. Around 60% of Instagram users are in the age group of 18 to 35 with 180 million users from India alone. As a result of the pandemic, the number has increased even more and it is expected that users on Instagram will increase further. After looking at these stats, it is easy to understand why Instagram Ads are in demand. But how much do Instagram Ads cost in India?

Advertising on Instagram comes at a price. Instagram’s pricing is very transparent. Through this article, we will look at how much Instagram ads cost in India for brands to promote their product/service offerings.

What are Instagram ads?

Instagram ads are paid postings that businesses can serve to Instagram users. Instagram ads appear across the app, including in users’ feeds, Stories, Explore, and more. The cost to advertise is up to businesses. You can select a budget that fits your business goals and update it at any time.

Why should you prefer Instagram Ads?

In order to increase revenue, every business must raise customer awareness. Advertising is by far the most practical means of raising awareness. Nowadays, the online revolution has taken over the whole planet, so why not advertise products online? Since the majority of young people use Instagram, why are you still hesitant to promote your brand on Instagram?

Instagram is the ideal platform for advertising due to its one billion active users. In addition to advertising your products. Additional advantages of advertising on Instagram include:

  • Monthly monitoring
  • Hashtag research
  • Linking other accounts.

Apart from it, you are allowed to customize your ad preference.

How much do Instagram Ads Cost in India?

The cost of ads CPC (cost-per-click) and sponsored ads in India is affected by given factors. However, the range of average cost of advertisement is from 36.69 INR to 146.75 INR. The cost of advertisement suggests that even a small business owner can online advertise their products on Instagram.

Factors contributing to Instagram Ads:

There are always certain factors that contribute to affecting the pricing of Instagram Ads. The cost of sponsored ads and ads CPC (cost-per-click) fluctuates depending on different factors. The following factors are taken into consideration while setting up the cost of an advertisement on Instagram:

  • Competition: Similar businesses might bring up the competition. In case, there are more competitive brands than yours, then you might need to pay more.
  • Industry: The industry with which a brand is dealing becomes crucial as it targets a set of people. For instance, if you are dealing with make-up products then products will attract a female audience more.
  • Bid Amount: The bid amount varies as per business need. It totally depends on the amount you are willing to spend on Instagram ads.
  • Feedback Score: It might fluctuate depending on the user’s feedback. It also depends on how relevant the ads are to a user.
  • Country of work: As per different countries, the cost per advertisement on Instagram differs.

What are the ways to lower Instagram Ads costs?

For startups and small businesses, the price of Instagram Ads seems to be a little higher. In case, you are looking for ways to lower Ads cost then you must follow the given ways:

1. Limit your target audience: Since Instagram Ads are meant to reach a wide range of communities. By selecting the target audience, you will be able to reach a more appropriate audience. You must consider various factors for targeting a specific audience:

  • Internet Behaviour: Through internet searches, you can make out whether the customer will be interested in your product or not.
  • Feedback: As per the feedback of your customer, you must function. If they are not interested then try avoiding them.
  • Location: If your product is designed for people belonging to a specific region, then you should target the audience of that region.

2. Linking the relevant landing page with ads: Instead of linking the homepage of your website, you should try to link the page regarding what your advertisement is.

3. Testing ads: Before posting the ads, you must test the ads to reduce the cost. This feature will help you to produce the finest copy of your advertisement. You must remember that the more the ad is relevant, leads to lower CPC and more customer attraction.

4. Choose an automatic bidding system: Being a newcomer to Instagram, you might get confused regarding the different packages available. To reduce the cost of ads, you should opt for an automatic bidding system. This allows you to choose the best plan for your business needs.

Conclusion:

Instagram Promotional ads are intended to promote different brands and their products online. Online promotion through advertising is the best way to make others aware of your brand. To promote your product online, you need to spend a generous amount. In India, the cost of ads on Instagram ranges from 36.69 INR to 146.75 INR.

Prices are subject to change as per the guidelines issued by Instagram on a timely basis. However, there won’t be much difference in prices of different packages after the announcement of guidelines by Instagram.

If you are looking for additional information to understand advertising on Instagram, head over to Ads by Instagram . Also, if you’re considering advertising on Facebook, know how much it costs to advertise on Facebook in India .

Picture of Sooraj Divakaran

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COMMENTS

  1. Instagram Profile Visits Campaign Explainer

    Here's what Rise Instagram Profile Visits Campaigns Do: Showcases your best content to targeted potential fans. Increases your reach by hundreds of thousands, or millions of people. Allows more people to see your posts opening up more opportunities to engage in a crowded feed. Can aid in follower growth.

  2. Create a Traffic Campaign with Instagram Profile Conversion Location

    The CTA button will default to Visit "Instagram Profile." ... Beyond a CTR and Cost Per Click Facebook reports on CPC (All) and CPC (Link Click). The first refers to all clicks and the second on all internal and outbound links. More, there really isn't going to be much else to measure. And that leaves me feeling a bit empty here.

  3. What Is Cost Per Visit (CPV) and How To Calculate It?

    Learn how to calculate cost per visit (CPV) for your Instagram and other marketing campaigns. CPV is a useful metric to analyze your PPC, CPC, CPA, and CPM campaigns and spot click fraud. Find out how to work out CPV for different platforms and strategies, and what factors affect it.

  4. How to Get More Profile Visits on Instagram in 2023

    Here, we'll unveil proven strategies to help you learn how to get more profile visits on Instagram in 2023. 1. Optimise Your Profile Aesthetics. Your Instagram profile serves as your digital identity, and creating a visually appealing and cohesive profile is key. - Profile Picture: Use a high-resolution image that encapsulates your persona ...

  5. How Much Does It Cost To Advertise On Instagram? (2024)

    This relates to anything you may be tracking for your business, like leads or sales. On average, the cost per 1,000 impressions for Instagram is about $5.14 per 1000 visits. The cost per click averages between $0.20 cents to $2. And lastly, the average cost per action is around $3.56.

  6. How Much Do Instagram Ads Cost in 2024? (+How to Save)

    Instagram cost per engagement (CPE) Instagram cost per engagement in ranges from $0.01-0.05. Instagram cost per thousand impressions (CPM) Instagram cost per one thousand impressions in ranges between $2.50-$3.50 for better-performing campaigns and their respective ad sets.

  7. Instagram Profile Visits

    Learn how to use insights on your Instagram profile visits to measure your performance and optimize your strategy. Find best practices, troubleshooting tips and definitions of profile visits on Meta Business Help Center.

  8. Instagram Advertising Cost: Make the Most of Your Budget

    The average monthly cost of a single Instagram ad is $0.75 per click. Let's discuss this further. Instagram Cost Per Click (CPC) is the amount of money you pay each time your advertisement is clicked. The average CPC in 2022 ranges from $0.5-$0.75.

  9. What is Profile Visits?

    Databox is a business analytics software that allows you to track and visualize your most important metrics from any data source in one centralized platform. To track Profile Visits using Databox, follow these steps: 1. Connect Instagram Business that contains the metric you want to track. 2.

  10. Cost per visit

    Explore Meta ads Intro to advertising Ad performance Facebook ads Instagram ads Ad specifications Inspiration Create an ad Go to Ads Manager. ... Cost per visit indicates how much each visit costs you on average. How it's calculated. Cost per visit is calculated as your cost divided by the number of visits.

  11. Instagram Cost Per Impression Calculator

    The calculation of Cost Per Impression (CPI) is based on two key factors: the total cost ( TC) of the ad campaign and the number of impressions ( I or NI ). The formula for determining CPI is as follows: CPI=ITC. Where: CPI represents the Cost Per Impression. TC is the total cost of the Instagram ad campaign.

  12. How to Boost and Measure a Post on Instagram

    The minimum amount is $1 per day and the max is $1,000 per day. ... to the highlighted blue box you can see that the brand's goal was to get more profile visits with the CTA being "Visit Instagram Profile." ... the view, scroll down to the Campaigns section to see an overview of your boosted posts including ad spend, results, cost per ...

  13. Guide to Instagram advertising costs, a handy breakdown

    According to a study by WebFX, Instagram ads cost between $0.00 - $500.00 per month for over 53% of individuals. However, marketers spend over $5,000 a month on Instagram ads. The specific amount you spend on ads will largely depend on your cost type, daily budget, and competition.

  14. Instagram Impressions & Other IG Lingo Marketers Needs to Know

    10. Instagram Cost per Click (CPC) Cost-per-click (CPC) is a metric used to measure how much you are paying for every click on an ad you place. In Instagram, the average is around $0.70 to $1 but the cost can soar to more than $5 for highly competitive industries.

  15. 2022 Instagram Industry Benchmarks Report

    Enter: Later's Instagram Industry Benchmarks Report. By analyzing over 63M posts, we calculated the average reach and engagement rates for top 30 industries, split by follower category — so you can accurately benchmark your brand or business and set realistic goals. Once you've got your goals locked in, you can use Later's Instagram ...

  16. How Much Does It Cost To Advertise on Instagram?

    Key takeaways. 76% of marketers are satisfied with the ROI they receive from Instagram advertising. 65% of businesses spend $0.00 - $6.00 per 1000 impressions on Instagram. 59% of businesses $0.00 - $0.75 per click for Instagram ads. 54% of businesses spend $0.03 - $0.08 per engagement on Instagram ads.

  17. Instagram Profile Visit Campaigns

    Rise runs highly effective ad campaigns from your Instagram profile that place your best content in the feeds and stories of the people who are most likely to engage with you. Our audience data is unparalleled in the music industry. Your campaign will be automatically optimized to run the best possible ads for your profile to obtain your results.

  18. Facebook and Instagram Ad Benchmarks: What Marketers Need to Know

    You're beating the average. The 2020 average CTR for retail Facebook ads was 1.32% and 0.58% for Instagram, according to data from Sidecar. This chart shows how placement impacts CTR. Interestingly, Facebook's in-stream video ads have the highest CTR at 0.33%, followed by Facebook feed ads at 0.29%.

  19. Complete Guide to Facebook and Instagram Advertising Cost

    Instagram Cost Per Click (CPC) = $0.20 to $2.5. If you decide to run your Instagram ad campaigns per the CPM pricing model. You should expect to pay between $3.5 to $5.5 per 1000 views or visits. Instagram CPM (Cost per 1000 views or visits = $3.5 to $5.5. Even though Instagram is part of the Facebook Ad system, research from various experts ...

  20. Avg Cost Per Engagement Instagram (auto updates)

    Cost per engagement is calculated for Instagram ads by dividing your spend by the number of engagements. For example, if your spend was $100 and you got 125 engagements, your cost per engagement was $0.80 ($100/125=$0.80).

  21. 3 Easy Ways to Create Instagram Ads : Social Media Examiner

    Wondering how to easily create Instagram ads? In this article, you'll discover three easy ways to create Instagram ads. #1: Promote an Instagram Post With the Instagram App. If you have an Instagram business account, you can create promotions with the Instagram app to boost the visibility of a post on your profile.. 3 Easy Ways to Create Instagram Ads by Kristi Hines on Social Media Examiner.

  22. Instagram CPM Rates in 2023

    Instagram ads on a cost per mille (CPM) basis, focusing on impressions, is most likely to pay around $5 per 1,000 visitors on average. Salesforce had once said its advertisers pay an average CPM of $6.29. It varies from company to company. Also Read: How to Increase your Programmatic Ad Revenue in 2023.

  23. How Much Do Instagram Ads Cost in India?

    However, the range of average cost of advertisement is from 36.69 INR to 146.75 INR. The cost of advertisement suggests that even a small business owner can online advertise their products on Instagram. Campaign Type. Instagram Ads Cost. Instagram CPM (cost per 1000 impressions) ₹8 to Rs. 12.